Government

In 1938, the Constitution for the Caddo Indians of Oklahoma became an established government. The Tribal Council is composed of eight members: the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, Oklahoma City Representative, Binger Representative, Anadarko Representative, and Fort Cobb Representative. The Representatives come from four areas (districts) with high populations of Caddo people. Though these Representatives are elected to represent their individual constituencies, they play an important part in making decisions for the entire tribe. With the exception of the Tribal Chairman, the Tribal Council members are not paid a salary. Council terms are staggered with each position seated four years.


Caddo Nation - 1929

“Caddo Indian Tribe Business Committee and Friends on the steps of the Oklahoma State Capitol Building, January 25th, 1929.” Archives and Manuscripts Division, Oklahoma Historical Society.

The current Tribal Council consists of the following individuals:

Chairman
Tamara Francis-Fourkiller
tffourkiller.cn@gmail.com
Vice-Chairman
Carol Ross
cross@caddonation.org
Secretary
Jennifer Reeder jreeder@caddonation.org
Treasurer
Vacant
Anadarko Representative
Phillip Martin
pmartin@caddonation.org
Binger Representative
Travis Threlkeld
tthrelkeld@caddonation.org
Fort Cobb Representative Maureen “Mo” Owings
mowings@caddonation.org
Oklahoma City Representative Tracy Newkumet Burrows
tnburrows@caddonation.org

A list of adopted Resolutions can be found here. You may request official copies of Tribal Council meeting minutes from the Department of Tribal Government at the Bureau of Indian Affairs (Anadarko Agency), in person or from the Caddo Nation by submitting the following FOIA form. 

Other officials of the Caddo Nation include members of the Hearing Board and the Election Board.


 

This entry was posted in Government. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.